Page 2 of 93

Club Trophies

Malcolm Trophy

Mr J Malcolm was the first President of the Club and he donated its first trophy.  In those days if a player won a trophy three times he kept it and a replacement would be bought by the original donor.  As early as 1898, when the club was just 5 years old, Mr Malcolm had to purchase a new trophy as Mr J P Parke had won the original Malcolm Trophy for the third time in that year.  Because of that tradition there have been a few Malcolm Trophies.  It was won outright in 1936 by Mr Bob Dewart and again in 1952 by Mr W C Rawle.

Its current holder is Michael McSherry who scored what must be one of the lowest ever scores to win it, although for many years it was played as a match play competition.  Michael went round in a remarkable 62 shots which included 9 birdies and one bogey.

Michael McSherry  Malcolm Trophy James Hanratty 2

In this photo we can see Club Captain Alec Hamilton presenting the Malcolm Trophy to H Jordan in 1969.

Majority Cups

Reaching the age of 21 is sometimes referred to as reaching the ‘age of majority’, and when the Club reached its 21st birthday in 1914 it purchased two trophies to be named The Majority Cups.  These were to be played for in an annual Mixed Foursomes event and are still played for to this day.  In order to ensure that no further cups would have to be purchased, the Council stipulated that the ‘win three times and retain the trophy’ tradition would not apply to these cups.  At the AGM of that year the President, Mr Watson, commended the decision to purchase the cups but expressed his disappointment at this stipulation.

The winners this year were the husband and wife team of John and Margaret O’Neill who may well echo Mr Watson’s disappointment as this was their third time to win the cups.

John and Margaret O'Neill

The Johnston Trophy

The Johnston Trophy was originally a Captain’s Day prize in the early 1900s and won by one of the Johnston family.  It takes the form of an inkwell with two silver golf balls holding the ink.  These seem to have been a popular prize in those days as there is a variety of inkwells in the display of old prizes in the cabinet in the hallway of the Club.

Mr J J J Johnston presented them to the Club in 1982 and they are played for each year.  This year’s holder is Terence Eagers

Terry Eagers

The RIR Cup

The Royal Irish Rifles were stationed in Lurgan Castle at the start of the First World War while they waited to be called to battle.  When they left in 1915 the officers of the Regiment gave the Club a donation to purchase a Challenge Cup for competition among the members.  This became known as The RIR Cup.  It was first played for on Easter Monday, 1915, and is still played for on that day each year. The first winner was J S Garrick.

This year’s holder is Graham McNeill

Graham McNeill

The Peace Cup

In August 1919 Lt Col William Allen, MP, donated a perpetual challenge cup to the club and it was named The Peace Cup.  This was to mark the conclusion of the First World War and the trophy is beautifully decorated with an olive branch and topped with The Angel of Peace.

Lt Col Allen had helped in selecting and preparing members of the Royal Irish Rifles for the war and later served as their commanding officer.  He died in 1947 two weeks after being knocked down by a motor van while alighting from a tram on the Lisburn Rd in Belfast.

The current holder is Douglas Houston

The Victory Cup

The Victory Cup was presented to the Club by Mr J Johnston in 1919 to mark victory in the war.  The winner for the first two years was Mr J H O’Neile.

This year’s winner was Neale McKinstry.


Previous Captains’ Days

This weekend we will see well over 200 golfers participate in the annual Captain’s Day celebrations, but what was Captain’s Day like 100 years ago in 1917, and indeed was there a Captain’s Day then?  The Captain that year was Mr Courtney Johnston, one of the founders of the club, who had also been Captain in 1900, 1901, 1908 and 1916.

Continue reading

Captains and Prizewinners

Captain                                                                     Prize Winner

1975            R Knox                                               T Fugard

1976            R Beattie                                          W Graham

1977            E Burke                                              F Lennon

1978            J G O’Neill                                         M McGleenon

1979            W Hutchison                                    J McCann

1980            G Irwin                                              J Hassay

1981            A Rae                                                 D Clarke

1982            D J Gregg                                           T Addis

1983            C Welsh                                             P McCrory

1984            T D Murphy                                      C Hatchell

1985            W T Hobbs                                        R Beck

1986            W Doherty                                        B Milling

1987            I Hanak                                              O Turkington

1988            H Hoy                                                 E Richardson



We have been very fortunate to receive some photos of golf at Gracehall taken around 1900.  Roy Hanna Jnr was playing golf with Mr Alistair Smith in Donegal last month and during their round Alistair talked about the history of golf in Ireland.  It transpired that he is a keen golf historian from Co Wicklow with a wealth of material including copies of ‘The Irish Golfer’, which described itself as ‘A weekly record of the royal game’, and ‘Ireland’s only golfing weekly’.

Continue reading

Opening of new clubhouse at Lurgan Golf Club


Opening of new clubhouse at Lurgan Golf Club.

Continue reading

The First Captain and the Beginnings of the Club

The first golf course in Ireland was at the Curragh in Co Kildare and there are records of golf being played there in 1852.  The Royal Curragh Golf Club was formed in 1858 and it is considered as being the oldest golf club in Ireland.  By 1890 there were 12 golf clubs in the country but the next decade saw a period of very quick growth.  The Golfing Union of Ireland was formed in 1891 and the Ladies’ Golfing Union of Great Britain and Ireland in 1893.  Between 1890 and 1899 a further 60 clubs were formed and Lurgan became one of those clubs in 1893.

Continue reading

Captains and Prizewinners from 1961-1974

Monday 19th June 2017 Continue reading

Royal British Legion

David LennonOn the verge of midsummer, David Lennon played his brightest golf of the year to lift top prize in the Royal British Legion competition with 41pts off 10.  Continue reading

Captain’s Day 2017

The season seems to have scarcely started, yet next weekend sees the highlight of the club’s year when Captain Chris Stevenson plays host to the annual Captain’s Day.  In the build-up to the big day we will be looking at some previous Captains and the winners of their prizes, and at a little bit of the history of the club and how it has developed since its formation in 1893.

Continue reading

Captain’s Day arrangements

Please note the following arrangements for Captain’s Day on 23rd & 24th June 2017. Continue reading

« Older posts Newer posts »

© 2017 Lurgan Golf Club

Theme by Anders NorenUp ↑